New NFL Playoff Format to Begin in 2020 NFL Season

Published by Cory Hays on

Yesterday, NFL owners voted to expand the playoff format by adding two extra teams. The NFL playoffs will now go from 12 to 14 teams. The addition of two extra teams means only the top team from each conference receiving a first round bye.

With the new format, the wild card round will now feature three games from each conference with the two seed facing off against the seven seed, the three seed facing off against the six seed, and the four seed facing off against the five seed. This new playoff format will feature three games on Saturday and three games on Sunday during Wild Card Weekend.

The extra games will be broadcast on both NBC and CBS. The NBC broadcasted game will also be aired on their streaming service, Peacock, as well as Telemundo. Also coming with the CBS broadcasted game will be a broadcast tailored for a younger audience aired on Nickelodeon. Wild Card Weekend is scheduled for January 9, 2021 and January 10, 2021.

Featured Image Credit:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: