Buccaneers WR Mike Evans Nominated for 2019 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award

Published by Cory Hays on

Today, the Buccaneers and the NFL announced that WR Mike Evans has been named the Buccaneers nominee for the 2019 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award. The Walter Payton Man of the Year Award acknowledges a player’s work both on and off the field. Evans had the following to say about being nominated: “Being nominated for Walter Payton Man of the Year is overwhelming – it’s a big deal. I never thought I could be a nominee. To be in the same conversation as other players who do tremendous things in their community, I’m truly honored.” 

Evans and his wife Ashli started the Mike Evans Family Foundation two years ago with a goal to support educational development and assist students from low-income families. The foundation also supports women and families affected by domestic violence.

Mike Evans life was impacted at a very young age when his father was killed by his uncle. This incident encouraged Evans to go harder in sports which is how he ended up an NFL star. Evans will wear a decal on his helmet the rest of the season in recognition of his accomplishments on and off the field despite being injured.

The 2019 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year will be announced during NFL Honors, a two-hour primetime awards special to air nationally on Feb. 1, the eve of Super Bowl LIV, on FOX. NFL Honors will be at the Adrienne Arsht Center in downtown Miami.

All 32 nominees will receive a donation of up to $50,000 in their name to their charity of choice. The winner of the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award will receive a $250,000 donation to the charity of their choice. All donations are courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

Below are all 32 nominees for the 2019 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award:

Arizona Cardinals RB David Johnson

Atlanta Falcons DB Ricardo Allen

Baltimore Ravens DB Brandon Carr

Buffalo Bills LB Lorenzo Alexander

Carolina Panthers QB Cam Newton

Chicago Bears WR Allen Robinson II

Cincinnati Bengals RB Giovani Bernard

Cleveland Browns WR Jarvis Landry

Dallas Cowboys OL Travis Frederick

Denver Broncos DB Justin Simmons

Detroit Lions LB Devon Kennard

Green Bay Packers LB Blake Martinez

Houston Texans DL D.J. Reader

Indianapolis Colts DB Pierre Desir

Jacksonville Jaguars DL Calais Campbell

Kansas City Chiefs P Dustin Colquitt

Los Angeles Chargers LB Uchenna Nwosu

Los Angeles Rams OL Andrew Whitworth

Miami Dolphins DT Davon Godchaux

Minnesota Vikings TE Kyle Rudolph

New England Patriots DL Kyle Van Noy

New Orleans Saints OL Terron Armstead

New York Giants OL Nate Solder

New York Jets OL Jonotthan Harrison

Oakland Raiders LB Tahir Whitehead

Philadelphia Eagles DB Malcolm Jenkins

Pittsburgh Steelers OL Maurkice Pouncey

San Francisco 49ers DB Richard Sherman

Seattle Seahawks LB Bobby Wagner

Tampa Bay Buccaneers WR Mike Evans

Tennessee Titans OL Ben Jones

Washington Redskins LS Nick Sundberg

 Featured Image Credit: Buccaneers.com



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: